The Life of a Cynic

It has often been marked to me that I am a very cynical person, which is often bizarre in people of my age. Generally it is regarded that the 20’s are a time for people to be bright and optimistic, ready to face the challenges of life. And them you discover the occasional cynic in the masses, those who look at life and prefer to see the reality behind situations.

I’ve often associated such cynicism in myself with a strong desire for critique, and it has been said that I enjoy being a critic of life. I critique most things on a daily basis, and cover my critique with a cynical viewpoint on the way things are and should be and not as they are seen by most people.

It is often most noticeable in my identification with the villain in most films, and the ineptitude of titular heroes. It does irk me however that we rarely see the villain win, and that in drama there they are often let down by some stupidity on there own behalf. I rather believe that James Bond would have been dead years prior had I been one of the villains he had faced. No rattling off my plan while a laser slowly moves inexorably towards him, no, not for this man. Bond would have been split in twain in mere moments had I gotten him strapped to a table with a laser.

It does however rob some enjoyment out of aspects of ones life however, constantly seeing the real as it were. Though I despise when people confuse cynicism with pessimism. Though I find that this is more than made up for in the fact that the people around me, and those I cherish as friends, are often amused by my crushing satire of films, and daily life. I have become the guy you turn too when you want unburdened truth about what’s going on, and what should be done.

And that’s exactly the way I like it.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

