What I do, is not What I do.

It’s an odd truism in the website world but it’s often the case. What I do, is not What I do.

How many of us introduce ourselves like this: “Hi, I’m Dave, and I design websites”? Seriously, I know I do, but that isn’t even half the story given the myriad of different skillsets that roll into those 2 words. “I design websites”. What the fuck does that even mean when you get down to it?

After all my skill sets boil to so much more than just those 2 words. But we all simplify for the client. After all saying “I’m a website designer” is easier than saying “I’m a website designer and developer with a specialization in PHP and using WordPress as a Content Management System as well as being versed in various aspects of SEO for businesses and building Social Media Presence”.

But we kind of have a tendency to shoot ourselves in the foot by saying Website Designer, as so many people (mostly the non tech-literate) start making assumptions about what you can do.

I recall one instance where I told someone I was a website designer and I was requested to build an all singing and dancing flash animation for their website. I had to decline, after all I’m not an Animator. But the thing that stuck with me was the parting words. “I thought you said you were a web designer”.

It’s a huge misconception among the average lay-person as to what web design actually is.

So to my “Web Designer” friends, have a read of this and if you have any funny stories to tell do so. But I would like to hear how you describe yourself to new clients.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “What I do, is not What I do.

  1. ha! i def feel you on this one. i too, am a “web designer”, strategist, and technologist. i’ve always been toiled with how to tell someone that yes, i can “design AND program” your website, develop a business process model around that medium and make sure you can have all of your computers networked – without sounding like a egotistical babbling idiot or by them then thinking ah, well then he wouldn’t know how to write a iPhone app. <– when in fact i can!

    that said, i left a bit of ambiguity in how i sell myself as i present in my company (http://ion360.com) and me!

    i am dimitri seneca snowden <— visionary. nerd. whiz.

    • Dave says:

      Well as Designers/developers, we have to toe a fine line between ambiguity and getting requests that we can’t do. or Specificity and not getting enough clients.

      I have a tendency towards marketing myself as “David Sivocha. Creative Web Designer and All round code Geek.”

      Thanks for the comment!

  2. James says:

    I have never introduced my self as “Dave, I design websites”. Although I may start doing so…

Leave a Reply

